ESE Foundation

Launched September 2020

We are proud to announce the creation of the European Hormone and Metabolism Foundation – Foundation of the European Society of Endocrinology (ESE Foundation).

The overarching aim of the ESE Foundation is for the public benefit. The endocrine patient will be at the core of the ESE Foundation’s objectives with the aim of promoting endocrine health, addressing endocrine disease and improving patient care. The ESE Foundation will promote the work of the European Society of Endocrinology (ESE) in areas such as:

  • Raising funding and distribution of funds with a particular focus on improving research and clinical outcomes for patients across all endocrine disciplines. 
  • Interaction with the European Union institutions supporting the policy and advocacy needs of the endocrine community across Europe and furthering ESE’s policy and advocacy strategy. 
  • Raising the profile of endocrinology on a European and international basis with a focus on public engagement. 

The Board of Directors is made up of the Immediate Past ESE President, the Past-Past ESE President, the current ESE President, the Treasurer of ESE, a representative from the ESE Council of Affiliated Societies (ECAS) (ex-officio), ESE’s Chief Executive Officer (ex-officio) and ESE’s Director of Strategic Partnerships (ex-officio). Their term of office will be in line with their term of office of the Founder (ESE). In addition, the Board may co-opt up to two individuals for a maximum period of two years to support specific initiatives where necessary.

Immediate Past ESE President and Chair of the ESE Foundation Board of Directors: AJ van der Lely, Netherlands, 2020-2021

Past-Past ESE President: Philippe Bouchard, France, 2020-2021

Current ESE President: Andrea Giustina, Italy, 2020-2021

Treasurer of ESE: Djuro Macut, Serbia, 2020-2024

ESE Council of Affiliated Societies (ECAS) representative (ex-officio): Anton Luger, Austria, 2020-2024

Chief Executive Officer of ESE and Secretary of the ESE Foundation Board of Directors (ex-officio): Helen Gregson, UK

Director of Strategic Partnerships of ESE (ex-officio): Dirk De Rijdt, Belgium

The ESE Foundation is a separate legal entity to the European Society of Endocrinology (ESE) and is registered in Brussels as a private foundation (Enterprise number is 0753.997.925), with ESE as the Founder. The financial accounts will be separate from ESE’s and, although the ESE Foundation will have its own decision-making powers, they must align to ESE’s own strategy.

The seat of the ESE Foundation will be located at Avenue des Arts 56, 1000 Bruxelles (c/o Interoffices).


If you have any questions then please contact the ESE Office.