We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2020 ESE Awards. The winners have not only contributed to endocrinology as a whole but have also made major advances in their specialities.

Geoffrey Harris Award

This prestigious award recognises researchers in the field of neuroendocrinology and is the first of its kind in Europe.

The 2020 Award is being presented to Professor Annamaria Colao from the Federico II University Hospital in Naples (Italy). Professor Colao has been awarded this for her work with patients with pituitary tumours which started in her student years, and her life-long dedication to improving diagnosis and therapy for patients with neuroendocrine diseases, including the publication of over 850 papers to date.

The award will be presented on 5 September (16:30-17:00 CET), during Professor Annamaria Colao's award lecture, Present and future of neuroendocrinology

European Journal of Endocrinology Award  

This is awarded to a scientist, less than 45 years of age, who has contributed significantly to the advancement of knowledge in the field of endocrinology through publication. 

This year’s recipient is Professor Davide Calebiro from the Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research at the University of Birmingham, UK. He receives the EJE Award for his ground-breaking work on the function of G-protein coupled receptors, examining their fundamental mechanisms and their role in endocrine disease.

The EJE Award will be presented on 5 September (17:00-17:30 CET), as part of Calebiro's award lecture, Shining light on membrane receptors.


European Hormone Medal

This is awarded to an international scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of basic or clinical endocrinology. 

The 2020 winner is Professor Olle Kämpe of the Karolinska Institutet and Karolinska University Hospital. He has been awarded the Medal for his pioneering research in autoimmune endocrine disease and significant contribution to the field through his body of work, which has significantly improved the diagnosis, treatment and follow-up of patients.  

The award will be presented on 5 September (17:30-18:00 CET), during  Professor Olle Kämpe's award lecture, Rare diseases as tools to understand autoimmunity.

Clinical Endocrinology Trust Award  

This is awarded for clinical research that addresses aspects of endocrinology at the forefront of clinical practice and is sponsored by the Clinical Endocrinology Trust. 

This year’s winner is Professor Richard Eastell from The University of Sheffield. He receives the Award for his major contribution to clinical research, practice and world health. Professor Eastell’s research is at the forefront of clinical practice, which is exemplified by his development of specialist services for osteoporosis at Sheffield, which treats over 8000 patients a year, and has led the world in the development of new therapies including the introduction of a method for detecting vertebral fractures, which are the commonest presentation of osteoporosis and now adopted worldwide.

The award will be presented on Monday 07 September (18:00-18:30 CET), during Professor Richard Eastell's award lecture, Postmenopausal osteoporosis: balancing the risks and benefit

Jens Sandahl Christiansen Award

This award is made in honour of Jens Sandahl Christiansen and will be presented to endocrinologists for a specific piece of research or projects on metabolism in general and is kindly supported by Novo Nordisk.

The 2020 winners are:

  • Dr Maria Yavropoulou from the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens and Clinical, who has demonstrated significant interest, commitment and efficiency in her specific interest area of bone and glucose metabolism.
  • Dr Nadia Schoenmakers Institute of Metabolic Science at the University of Cambridge for her work on the genetic basis of CH as well as an understanding of the physiology of thyroid hormone biosynthesis. Most recently, she has identified mutations in SLC26A7 causing primary dyshormonogenic CH and was the first to demonstrate a key role for SLC26A7 in hormonogenesis in humans and mice.

The Jens Sandahl Christiansen awards will take place on 6 September, (17:00-17:30 CET).

Young Investigator Awards

We are pleased to be announcing the twelve winners of our Young Investigator Awards during e-ECE 2020! Each winner will receive €1,000. The awards are judged based on the achieved abstract scores, which are determined by the ECE Abstract Review Committee. The final decision will then made by the ECE Programme Organising Committee.

 The Young Investigator Awards will take place on 6 September, (18:00-20:00 CET). 

Nurse & Nurse Best Poster Award 

We will be announcing the winner of the Nurse best poster award which celebrates the best in Endocrine nursing. Winners will be announced but the Endocrine Nursing Committee. 

The awards will be announced on 08 September (12:45-13:00 CET) post the Meet the Expert session.  

Poster Awards

Poster Awards, worth €250 each, are awarded to the eight best posters (four clinical and four basic) on display at this year's first digital conference e-ECE 2020. 

The eight awarded posters are selected from the top 20 clinical and 20 basic poster abstracts which attained the best ratings during the abstract evaluation process, based on the scientific content and on the quality of the poster presentation. The prizes are bestowed by the Programme Organising Committee to the presenting author of the eight selected posters.

The winners will be announced and will receive their prize money, at the Poster Prize session during the virtual congress.

Subscribe to our email alerts