European Hormone Medal

The European Hormone Medal is awarded to an international scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of basic or clinical endocrinology.

The award consists of a financial reward and medal and will be presented during the annual European Congress of Endocrinology, where the winner will be asked to give one of the Plenary lectures.

2021 Winner

Niels Skakkebaek, Denmark - Is Human Reproductive Health Sustainable in the 21st Century?

Closing date 28 February each year


Nominations for the award are invited from members of the ESE Council of Affiliated Societies (ECAS) and from the ESE Science Committee. Self-nominations will be accepted if supported by two ESE Members. The nomination form and application documents will be made available to ECAS members when the nomination process is opened. Nominations should include:

  • Nomination form
  • Letter of support
  • Curriculum vitae of the candidate including a complete bibliography
  • List of publications and merits of the candidate¬†

The documents should be submitted by email to the ESE Office by the closing date stated.


Past Presidents of ESE will not be eligible for four years after their term of office ends. Previous recipients of the Geoffrey Harris and EJE Award will not be eligible for 3 years after their award was received.


The Chair of the jury will usually be the Chair of the ESE Science Committee and the jury is composed of the Chair, the ESE President and all of the official ECAS representatives from the societies represented within ECAS. The jury is formed each year and each jury member will have one vote (ie, one vote per Society).

The Chair of the jury will decide on the final list of candidates to be put forward for vote. The successful candidate will be the candidate who receives the most votes. In the case of a tied vote the winner will be decided by the Chair of the jury, and ratified by the ESE Executive Committee.