Geoffrey Harris Award

The European Society of Endocrinology is pleased to present the annual Geoffrey Harris Award. This prestigious award recognises researchers in the field of neuroendocrinology and is the first of its kind in Europe.

The award consists of a financial reward, medal and travel expenses and will be presented during the annual European Congress of Endocrinology, where the winner will be asked to give one of the Plenary lectures, in addition to two other lectures at future ESE scientific meetings.

Closing date 28 February each year.


Nominations for the award are invited from any scientific organisation or administrative group. The candidate must be a member of ESE and self-nominations will not be accepted. 

Members of the ESE Executive Committee and the ECE Programme Organising Committee are not eligible for one year after their term of office ends. ESE Committee Chairs and Focus Area Leads are not eligible whilst in office.

Nominations should include:

  • Letter of support
  • CV
  • List of publications and merits of the candidate 

Nominations should be submitted by email to the ESE Office by the closing date stated.


The jury is composed of five members of the ESE Executive Committee and is formed each year. A member of the Executive Committee may not serve in the jury when nominations have been received from a fellow countryman. If this reduces the number below the minimum of 5 jury members, then external jury members are to be consulted.

The Chairman of the jury is usually the ESE Secretary. If not a member of the jury, for reasons outlined above, the President or the Treasurer will act as Chairman. If all three are not members of the jury, the jury selects a chairman from their own number.

Please contact the ESE Office for further information.

2020 Winner

Annamaria Colao, Italy



Subscribe to our email alerts