

30 November 2018

Dear ESE member

Notice of Election of ESE Executive Committee members in 2019

As a membership society ESE offers the opportunity to all members to nominate candidates for the Executive Committee. I am writing to invite you to make nominations for the President-elect and two Executive Committee positions that will be available for election in 2019.

Firstly, I would like to inform you that two members of the Executive Committee will retire in 2019: Márta Korbonits (UK) and Jérôme Bertherat (France). In addition to this, the President-elect position will be available as Andrea Giustina will take up the position of President as AJ van der Lely steps down. The Executive Committee will also be making a proposal at the 2019 AGM to extend the term of the current Treasurer, Bulent Yildiz, for one year until 2020.

The current Executive Committee, together with details of their terms of office, geographical location and main fields of expertise, is shown on the next page; it is a priority to ensure that the membership of the Executive Committee remains balanced in terms of geographical location, gender, basic and clinical interests and the different specialties in endocrinology.

Executive Committee members must have sufficient time to dedicate to the Society and its activities, therefore nominees are asked to refer to the document 'Information on the role of an ESE Executive Committee member' as this outlines the time commitment and responsibilities for the Executive Committee positions.

Important information:

The closing date for nominations to be received is Sunday 30 December 2018. In accordance with the ESE Byelaws each voting member may make one nomination for each Executive Committee vacancy. The nomination form is to be completed in full and contain supporting information, such as brief curriculum vitae, a summary of the nominee's contributions within the field of endocrinology and a declaration signed by the nominee of his or her willingness to stand for election. Please note that to be eligible for election candidates must be nominated by at least two paid-up ESE members.

All nominations will be reviewed by the ESE Nominations Committee who, taking into account the balance of the Executive Committee in terms of geographical location, subject speciality, basic or clinical focus and gender, will propose a final list of candidates to the Executive Committee. As stated in the Byelaws, in order to keep a balance as detailed before, the Executive Committee may also make up to two nominations for each vacancy. The Executive Committee may nominate their candidates after the membership have submitted their nominations. The Executive Committee will make the final decision on the list of selected candidates to be put forward to the members for election. Further information regarding the ESE Memorandum & Articles of Association and Byelaws can be found at https://www.ese-hormones.org/about-us/governance/.

European Society of Endocrinology

Starling House, 1600 Bristol Parkway North, Bristol, BS34 8YU, UK Tel +44 1454 642247 info@euro-endo.org www.ese-hormones.org



In order to submit a nomination please complete the nomination form (Form A for President and Form B for Executive Committee member) which, in addition to being attached to this letter, can also be obtained by emailing the ESE Office at info@euro-endo.org.

The closing date for nominations to be received is Sunday 30 December 2018.

Yours sincerely

1

Professor Monica Marazuela ESE Secretary and Chair of the ESE Nominations Committee

Current ESE Executive Committee members

Name	Office	Country	Main field of expertise	Term of office
AJ van der Lely	President	Netherlands	B/C Neuroendocrinology	2015 - 2019
Andrea Giustina	President-elect	Italy	C Pituitary, Bone	2017 – 2019 2019 - 2021
Mónica Marazuela	Secretary	Spain	B/C Neuroendocrinology. Autoimmune thyroid disease	2018 - 2022
Bulent Yildiz	Treasurer	Turkey	C Androgen excess disorders in women, Obesity, Neuroendocrine regulation of food intake and body weight	2014 – 2019
Jérôme Bertherat		France	C Adrenal disorders	2015 – 2019
Felix Beuschlein		Germany	B/C Adrenal, endocrine hypertension, endocrine tumours	2017 - 2021
Beata Kos-Kudła		Poland	B/C Neuroendocrine tumours, neuroendocrinology, pituitary	2017 - 2021
Márta Korbonits		UK	B/C Pituitary tumours, acromegaly, endocrine genetics, hormonal effects on metabolism	2015 - 2019
Camilla Schalin- Jäntti		Finland	C Pituitary, Thyroid, Parathyroids, Neuroendocrine Tumours, Adrenals, Bone	2016 - 2020
Riccarda Granata		Italy	B/C Central and peripheral activities of neurohormones and gastrointestinal hormones	2018 - 2022
Ex-Officio				
Sofia Llahana	Nurse representative	UK	Endocrine Nurse	
Anneke van den Beukel	EYES representative	Netherlands	ESE Young Endocrinologist (EYES)	
Djuro Macut	ECAS representative	Serbia	C Metabolic endocrinology, neuroendocrine tumours/Reproduct. endocrinology	

Voting will open in Spring 2019 by e-voting. Please ensure that your email address is up to date in order for you to be able to vote. In order to check and update your details please log-in to the members section at www.ese-hormones.org. If you do not have a password, or cannot remember it, then click on the link 'I've forgotten my member number and/or password'. Once you have logged on to the members section you can check and update your details in 'Profile Summary'.