

22 November 2019

Dear ESE member

Notice of Election of ESE Executive Committee members in 2020

As a membership society ESE offers the opportunity to all members to nominate candidates for the Executive Committee. I am writing to invite you to make nominations for two Executive Committee positions that will be available for election in 2020.

Firstly, I would like to inform you that two members of the Executive Committee will retire in 2020: Camilla Schalin-Jäntti, current Chair of the Education Committee (Finland) and Bulent Yildiz, current Treasurer (Turkey).

The current Executive Committee, together with details of their terms of office, geographical location and main fields of expertise, is shown on the next page; it is a priority to ensure that the membership of the Executive Committee remains balanced in terms of geographical location, gender, basic and clinical interests and the different specialties in endocrinology.

Executive Committee members must have sufficient time to dedicate to the Society and its activities, therefore nominees are asked to refer to the document 'Information on the role of an ESE Executive Committee member' as this outlines the time commitment and responsibilities for the Executive Committee positions.

Important information:

Executive Committee members will be asked to Chair a particular committee or take on an Officer role (for example Treasurer or Secretary), whilst it is not automatic that you will be asked to chair (or take on the function) of the retiring Executive Committee members, nominees must be willing to do so if asked.

The closing date for nominations to be received is Sunday 22 December 2019. In accordance with the ESE Byelaws each voting member may make one nomination for each Executive Committee vacancy. The nomination form is to be completed in full and contain supporting information, such as brief curriculum vitae, a summary of the nominee's contributions within the field of endocrinology and a declaration signed by the nominee of his or her willingness to stand for election. Please note that to be eligible for election candidates must be nominated by at least two paid-up ESE members.

All nominations will be reviewed by the ESE Nominations Committee who, taking into account the balance of the Executive Committee in terms of geographical location, subject speciality, basic or clinical focus and gender, will propose a final list of candidates to the Executive Committee. As stated in the Byelaws, in order to keep a balance as detailed before, the Executive Committee may also make up to two nominations for each vacancy. The Executive Committee may nominate their candidates after the membership have submitted their nominations. The Executive Committee will make the final decision on the list of selected candidates to be put forward to the members for election. Further information regarding the ESE

European Society of Endocrinology

Starling House, 1600 Bristol Parkway North, Bristol, BS34 8YU, UK Tel +44 1454 642247 info@euro-endo.org www.ese-hormones.org



Memorandum & Articles of Association and Byelaws can be found at https://www.ese-hormones.org/about-us/governance/.

In order to submit a nomination please complete the nomination form (Form A for Executive Committee member) which, in addition to being attached to this letter, can also be obtained by emailing the ESE Office at info@euro-endo.org.

The closing date for nominations to be received is Sunday 22 December 2019.

Yours sincerely

Professor Monica Marazuela

ESE Secretary and Chair of the ESE Nominations Committee

Current ESE Executive Committee members

Name	Office	Country	Main field of expertise	Term of office
Andrea Giustina	President	Italy	C Pituitary, Bone	2019 - 2021
Martin Reincke	President-elect	Germany	B/C Adrenal endocrinology, neuroendocrinology, endocrine hypertension	2019 - 2021 2021 - 2023
Mónica Marazuela	Secretary	Spain	B/C Neuroendocrinology. Autoimmune thyroid disease	2018 - 2022
Bulent Yildiz	Treasurer	Turkey	C Androgen excess disorders in women, Obesity, Neuroendocrine regulation of food intake and body weight	2014 - 2020
Felix Beuschlein		Germany	B/C Adrenal, endocrine hypertension, endocrine tumours	2017 - 2021
Simona Glasberg		Israel	B/C Endocrine Oncology, neuro- endocrinology, neuroendocrine tumours, hormone-related cancer	
Riccarda Granata		Italy	B/C Central and peripheral activities of neurohormones and gastrointestinal hormones	2018 - 2022
Beata Kos-Kudła		Poland	B/C Neuroendocrine tumours, neuroendocrinology, pituitary	2017 - 2021
Robin Peeters		Netherlands	B/C Thyroid	
Camilla Schalin-Jäntti		Finland	C Pituitary, Thyroid, Parathyroid, Neuroendocrine Tumours, Adrenals, Bone	2016 - 2020
Ex-Officio				
Sherwin Criseno	Nurse representative	UK	Endocrine Nurse	
Ljiljana Marina and Ayse Zengin	EYES representative	Serbia and Australia	ESE Young Endocrinologists and Scientists (EYES)	
Djuro Macut	ECAS representative	Serbia	C Metabolic endocrinology, neuroendocrine tumours/Reproduct. endocrinology	