

Education Committee

Committee Composition

Chair: A member of the Executive Committee, designated by the Executive

Committee.

Full members: Up to 8 members.

An open call for available Committee positions will be advertised. ESE members can apply themselves or nominate someone else. Current Committee members can also make nominations. This Committee will review and vote on the applications/nominations received. The Committee Chair will then propose the new member(s) to the Executive Committee,

who will ratify the new member(s).

One member to be a representative from EYES and two members to represent

smaller eastern European countries.

Ex-officio members: ESE President.

ESE President-Elect.

ESE Science Committee Chair.

UEMS Representative.

Co-opted members: Up to two additional members may be co-opted for a limited period to fulfil a

specific role, subject to Executive Committee approval.

Quorum Four (4) full members including the Chair.

Duration of Service

Chair: Four years or co-terminous with office, if applicable.

Full members: Four years.

Ex-officio members: Co-terminous with office.

Co-opted members: Up to two years, but with the option to extend to four years in total with

approval from the Executive Committee.

Reporting

The Committee reports to the ESE Executive Committee through the Education

Committee Chair.

Meetings Two meetings per year; meetings can be held via telecon/video conference.

Remit

1. To develop and maintain a financially sustainable education strategy for ESE.

2. To develop detailed plans for proposed activities, including budgets, programmes and venues, working with the ESE Office as required.

3. To monitor progress on all activities and report back to the Executive

Committee.

- 4. To prepare a final assessment for the Executive Committee after each activity.
- 5. To maintain the ESE Recommended Curriculum of Specialisation in Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism and ensure this is kept up-to-date.
- To work in collaboration with UEMS to develop and maintain the European Board Examination in Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism, nominating representatives to the question writing group, standard setting group and examination board as required.
- 7. To maintain and deliver the ESE Postgraduate Education Programme, including physical events and online educational resources.
- 8. To manage the ESE Clinical Update programme, collaborating with local organisers where required and ensuring this remains high quality and relevant and aligned with ESE's strategic aims.
- 9. To manage the ESE Small Meeting Grant programme.
- 10. To ensure that ESE remains relevant and attractive to early-career members, via the Early-Career Members Working Group.
- 11. To work towards the financial sustainability of the Education Committee activities.

Additional notes

- All Committee members need to be paid up members of the European Society of Endocrinology.
- Committee members should make every effort to attend all meetings. Any
 Committee member who does not attend a meeting for a year will be asked
 to step down, other than in exceptional circumstances.
- The Committee will liaise with other ESE Committees as appropriate.
- All papers and minutes must be treated in strictest confidence.
- All Committee members must act in the best interest of the Society.
- Any potential conflicts of interest should be declared at the start of the meeting or as they arise, and the member concerned should take no part in the discussion.
- The Chair should not serve a second consecutive term of office, unless there are exceptional circumstances identified by the Executive Committee.
- The Society is committed to equal opportunities and the promotion of equality, diversity and inclusion and where possible this committee should follow the principles of <u>ESE's Equality</u>, <u>Diversity and Inclusion Policy</u>.
- Committee membership should represent the key areas of interest; geographical spread; and gender considerations.

Current membership

Chair

Mirjam Christ-Crain, Switzerland, (2020-2024).

Full members

Mark Gurnell, UK, (2019-2023).

Bastiaan Havekes, Netherlands, (2019-2023).

Heide Siggelkow, Germany (2020-2024).

Gerald Raverot, France (2021-2025).

Mark Sherlock, Republic of Ireland (2021-2025).

Lina Zabuliene, Lithuania (2021-2025).

Tatjana Milenkovic, Macedonia (2021-2025).

Daniele Santi, EYES representative, (2021-2025).

Ex-officio

Martin Reincke, Germany, co-terminous with office (President, 2021-2023). Jérôme Bertherat, France, co-terminous with office (President-Elect, 2021-2023).

Martin Fassnacht, Germany, co terminous with office (Science Committee Chair, 2021-2025).

UEMS Representative, Maeve Durkan (Ireland), co-terminous with office as President of the UEMS Board.

ESE Team member responsibility: Scientific Programmes Manager.