

### **Science Committee**

# **Committee Composition**

Chair: A member of the Executive Committee, designated by the Executive

Committee. The Chair should have knowledge and experience of

basic/research issues and activities.

Full members: Up to six members.

An open call for available Committee positions will be advertised. ESE members can apply themselves or nominate someone else. Current Committee members can also make nominations. This Committee will

review and vote on the applications/nominations received. The

Committee Chair will then propose the new member(s) to the Executive

Committee, who will ratify the new member(s).

One member to be a representative of EYES (proposed by EYES).

Ex-officio members: ESE President.

ESE President-elect.

Co-opted members: Up to two additional members may be co-opted for a limited period to fulfil a

specific role, subject to Executive Committee approval.

**Quorum** Four (4) full members including the Chair.

### **Duration of Service**

Chair: Four years.

Full members: Four years.

Ex-officio members: Co-terminous with office.

Co-opted members: Up to two years, but with the option to extend to four years in total with

approval from the Executive Committee.

**Reporting**The Committee reports to the ESE Executive Committee through the Science

Committee Chair.

Meetings Two meetings per year; meetings can be held via telecon/video conference.

**Remit**1. To give guidance on matters of science including ethical issues and good practice.

2. To support scientific research in endocrinology in Europe, including funding, with a special focus on supporting young endocrinologists and those from less-advantaged countries.

3. To recommend new ESE Focus Area Basic Leads and coordinate Focus Areas towards strategic developments in research and science in endocrinology.

- 4. To help define the education and professional training requirements of scientists working in endocrinology, and to promote and facilitate careers in endocrine science.
- 5. To support the ESE Education Committee on scientific education activities in endocrinology, as required.
- 6. To present the views of endocrine scientists on professional and policy issues to the EU and other bodies.
- 7. To provide input on scientific symposia and other conference and training sessions.
- 8. To work with the ESE media representative and ESE Office to ensure adequate and appropriate representation of science to the public and the media.
- 9. To work towards the financial sustainability of the Science Committee activities.

# **Additional notes**

- All Committee members need to be paid up members of the European Society of Endocrinology.
- Committee members should make every effort to attend all meetings.
   Any Committee member who does not attend a meeting for a year will be asked to step down, other than in exceptional circumstances.
- The Committee will liaise with other ESE Committees as appropriate.
- All papers and minutes must be treated in strictest confidence.
- All Committee members must act in the best interest of the Society.
- Any potential conflicts of interest should be declared at the start of the meeting or as they arise, and the member concerned should take no part in the discussion.
- The Chair should not serve a second consecutive term of office, unless there are exceptional circumstances identified by the Executive Committee.
- The Society is committed to equal opportunities and the promotion of equality, diversity and inclusion and where possible this committee should follow the principles of <u>ESE's Equality</u>, <u>Diversity and Inclusion</u> Policy.
- Committee membership should represent the key areas of interest; geographical spread; and gender considerations.

# **Current membership**

#### Chair

Eleanor Davies, UK, co-terminous with office, (2023-2027).

## Full members

Chris McCabe, UK, (2021-2025).

Manuel D. Gahete, Spain, (2022-2026).

Danijela Vojnovic Milutinovic, Serbia, (2022-2026).

Stavroula (Lina) Paschou, Greece, (2023-2027).

Daniele Santi, Italy, (2023-2027).

Juan Manuel Jiménez-Vacas, UK, (EYES Representative, 2021-2025).

#### Ex-officio

Jérôme Bertherat, France, co-terminous with office, (President, 2023-2025).

Wiebke Arlt, Germany/UK, co-terminous with office, (President-Elect, 2023-2025).

ESE Team member responsibility: Head of Scientific Programmes.