

29 November 2023

Dear ESE member

Notice of Election of ESE Executive Committee members in 2024

As a membership society ESE offers the opportunity to all members to nominate candidates for the Executive Committee. I am writing to invite you to make nominations for two Executive Committee positions that will be available for election in 2024.

Firstly, I would like to inform you that two members of the Executive Committee will retire in 2024: Mirjam Christ-Crain (Switzerland), current chair of the Education Committee and Djuro Macut (Serbia), current Treasurer (Officer and Chair of the Finance Committee).

Executive Committee members will be asked to Chair a particular committee or take on an Officer role (for example Treasurer or Secretary), whilst it is not automatic that you will be asked to chair (or take on the function) of the retiring Executive Committee members, nominees must be willing to do so if asked.

The current Executive Committee, together with details of their terms of office, geographical location and main fields of expertise, is shown on the next page; it is a priority to ensure that the membership of the Executive Committee remains balanced in terms of geographical location, gender, basic and clinical interests and the different specialties in endocrinology.

We welcome diversity and, for the 2024 election, the Executive Committee encourage nominations for female members and candidates from Eastern Europe, especially from countries not already represented by the current Executive Committee.

Executive Committee members must have sufficient time to dedicate to the Society and its activities, therefore nominees are asked to refer to the following documents: 'Information on the role of an ESE Executive Committee member' outlines the time commitment and responsibilities for the Executive Committee positions. It is also important to understand that Executive Committee members are Company Directors and Charity Trustees. Please refer to Trustees' responsibilities: Key points for Executive Committee candidates for more information.

Important information:

The closing date for nominations to be received is Monday 8 January 2024. In accordance with the ESE Byelaws each voting member may make one nomination for each Executive Committee vacancy. The nomination form is to be completed in full and contain supporting information, such as brief curriculum vitae, a summary of the nominee's contributions within the field of endocrinology and a declaration signed by the nominee of his or her willingness to stand for election. Please note that to be eligible for election candidates must be nominated by at least two paid-up ESE members.

All nominations will be reviewed by the ESE Nominations Committee who, taking into account the balance of the Executive Committee in terms of geographical location, subject speciality, basic or clinical focus and gender, will propose a final list of candidates to the Executive Committee. As stated in the Byelaws, in order

European Society of Endocrinology info@ese-hormones.org www.ese-hormones.org



to keep a balance as detailed before, the Executive Committee may also put forward up to two nominations for each vacancy. The Executive Committee may nominate their candidates after the membership have submitted their nominations. The Executive Committee will make the final decision on the list of selected candidates to be put forward to the members for election. Further information regarding the ESE Memorandum & Articles of Association and Byelaws can be found at https://www.ese-hormones.org/about-us/governance/.

In order to submit a nomination please complete the nomination form (Form A for Executive Committee member) which, in addition to being attached to this letter, can also be obtained by emailing the ESE Office at info@ese-hormones.org. The closing date for nominations to be received is Monday 8 January 2024.

Yours sincerely

Professor Maria Chiara Zatelli

Moria aliona Zatelli

ESE Secretary and Chair of the ESE Nominations Committee

Current ESE Executive Committee members

Name	Country	Main field of expertise	Term of office
Jérôme Bertherat	France	B/C Adrenal diseases	2023-2025
President, International Liaison Committee Chair		,	
Wiebke Arlt President-elect and Membership Committee Co-Chair	UK	B/C Adrenal and reproductive endocrinology, steroid endocrinology	2023-2025 2025-2027
Maria Chiara Zatelli Secretary and Nominations Committee Chair	Italy	B/C Endocrine Oncology	2022-2026
Djuro Macut Treasurer and Finance Committee Chair	Serbia	C Metabolic endocrinology, neuroendocrine tumours/Reproduct. endocrinology	2020-2024
Cynthia Andoniadou Congress Committee Chair	UK	B Neuroendocrinology/Pituitary, Adrenal, Endocrine Stem Cells	2022-2026
Philippe Chanson Publishing and Communications Chair	France	C Neuroendocrinology, Pituitary, Adrenal diseases	2021-2025
Mirjam Christ-Crain Education Committee Chair	Switzerland	C Neuroendocrinology / Pituitary	2020-2024
Eleanor Davies Science Committee Chair	UK	B Cardiovascular/adrenal gland/primary aldosteronism	2023-2027
Martin Fassnacht Clinical Committee Chair	Germany	B/C Endocrine tumours, Adrenal, Pituitary, Obesity	2021-2025
Sebastian Neggers Rare Disease Committee Co-Chair	Netherlands	C Neuroendocrinology	2023-2027
Ex-Officio			
Antoan Sojat, EYES Committee Co-Chair Walter Vena, Italy will replace Antoan Sojat in 2024	Serbia	ESE Young Endocrinologists and Scientists (EYES) representative	
Sherwin Criseno, Nurse Committee Chair Kirsten Davidse, Netherlands, will replace Sherwin Criseno in 2024	UK	Endocrine Nurse representative	
Anton Luger, Membership Committee Co-Chair	Austria	ECAS representative	