

Congress Committee

Committee Composition

Chair: A member of the Executive Committee, designated by the Executive

Committee.

Full members: Up to 8 members.

An open call for available Committee positions will be advertised. ESE members can apply themselves or nominate someone else. Current Committee members can also make nominations. This Committee will review and vote on the applications/nominations received. The Committee Chair will then propose the new member(s) to the Executive Committee,

who will ratify the new member(s).

1–2 Executive Committee members, designated by the Executive Committee.

Ex-officio members: ESE President.

ESE President-Elect.
ESE Treasurer.

Chief Executive Officer.

Director of Strategic Partnerships.

Co-opted members: Additional members may be co-opted for a limited period to fulfil a specific

role, including representatives of several recent and forthcoming LOCs and/or

POCs (Local and/or Programme Organising Committees).

Quorum 5 members.

Duration of Service

Chair: Co-terminous with office.

Full members: 4 years.

Ex-officio members: Co-terminous with office.

Co-opted members: POC Chairs can be invited on the committee from two years previous, as

appropriate. LOC Chairs can be invited on the committee from two years

previous, as appropriate. Co-opted members do not have voting rights.

ReportingThe Committee reports to the ESE Executive Committee through the Congress

Committee Chair.

Meetings The Congress Committee will usually meet at least once a year. Other business

will usually be conducted by email.

Remit

- 1. To provide a link between the vision and strategy of the ExCo and the ESE Office and PCO (Professional Congress Organiser).
- 2. To provide a link between the vision and strategy of the ExCo and the ESE Office and PCO (Professional Congress Organiser).
- 3. To provide input to the PCO, ESE Office and Executive Committee for the initial critical evaluation of proposals from candidate cities and the selection of 2-3 final challengers for each annual congress.
- 4. To provide a link to the ESE Team in relation to practical items such as industry time slots, programme and educational concepts etc.
- 5. To support the Committee Chair through:
 - a. To advise the PCO, ESE Office and ESE Executive Committee on policy decisions regarding ECE Congresses.
 - b. To assist the PCO and ESE Office in providing guidance for the LOCs of future meetings.
 - c. To review the scientific programme, update and final reports of congresses so that the Chair can report on these to the Executive Committee.

Note: The Congress Committee Chair will have overall responsibility for the ECE POC and will supervise the scientific programme. The role of the Congress Committee Chair and the POC is detailed in the POC Guidelines document.

Additional notes

- All Committee members need to be paid up members of the European Society of Endocrinology.
- Committee members should make every effort to attend all meetings. Any Committee member who does not attend a meeting for a year will be asked to step down, other than in exceptional circumstances.
- The Committee will liaise with other ESE Committees as appropriate.
- All papers and minutes must be treated in strictest confidence.
- All Committee members must act in the best interest of the Society.
- Any potential conflicts of interest should be declared at the start of the meeting or as they arise, and the member concerned should take no part in the discussion.
- The Chair should not serve a second consecutive term of office, unless there are exceptional circumstances identified by the Executive Committee.
- The Society is committed to equal opportunities and the promotion of equality, diversity and inclusion and where possible this committee should follow the principles of ESE's Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Policy.
- Committee membership should represent the key areas of interest; geographical spread; and gender considerations.

Current membership

Chair

Cynthia Andoniadou, co-terminous with office (2022-2026).

Full members

Raul Luque, Spain (2020-2024) Corin Badiu, Romania (2021-2025) Birgitte Holst, Denmark (2021-2025) Niki Karavitaki, UK (2021-2025) Jorgen Isgaard, Sweden (2021-2025) Merav Fraenkel, Israel (2023-2027) Greisa Vila, Austria (2023-2027)

1-2 Executive Committee Members to be decided.

Co-opted members

POC 2024 Co-chairs, (2022-2024): Darko Kastelan, Croatia and Suzanne Dickson, Sweden LOC 2024 Chair, (2023-2024): Charlotte Höybye, Sweden

Ex-officio

Jérôme Bertherat, France, co-terminous with office (President, 2023-2025) Wiebke Arlt, UK, co-terminous with office (President-Elect, 2023-2025) Djuro Macut, Serbia, co-terminous with office (Treasurer, 2020-2024) Helen Gregson, Chief Executive Officer, co-terminous with office Dirk De Rijdt, Director of Strategic Partnerships, co-terminous with office

ESE Team member responsibility: ESE Event Manager