Skip to content
ESE logo
Pituitary and Neuroendocrinology

Stay informed of the latest research and clinical developments relating to Pituitary and Neuroendocrinology. Here you will find updates on the work of our clinical and basic leads, and expert panel, details of upcoming training and events, and links to recent news and publications.



A Note From Our Focus Area Leads

We are excited and honoured to lead the prominent ESE Focus Area on Pituitary and Neuroendocrinology, and we look forward to collaborating with clinicians and scientists in advancing our shared interest.

Europe holds a long-standing, strong tradition in basic, translational, and clinical research on the Master Gland. Hypothalamo-pituitary diseases are the subject of many ongoing studies, several novel medical treatments are tested in clinical trials, and many more pre-clinical drug candidates are under development. ESE members lead or contribute to this work and, through the Focus Area on Pituitary and Neuroendocrinology, we will work to facilitate engagement of ESE with them via our annual European Congress of Endocrinology and other platforms.

Our further overarching aim is to promote dissemination of scientific knowledge and sharing of updates in clinical practice.  Postgraduate education is one of our priorities, particularly under the current climate of limited funding for such initiatives.

 Last but not least, throughout the Focus Area, ESE will expand relationships with other specialist societies and commercial partners, working with them to address unmet clinical needs and challenges in basic and translational research.

Focus Areas can play a catalytic role in the strategic vision of ESE and we welcome ESE members to join and actively engage with them.

Clinical Lead: Greisa Vila, Austria
Basic Lead: Justo Castaño, Spain 

Expert Panel: Gerald Raverot (France), Pia Burman (Sweden), Cynthia Andoniadou (UK), Auli Karhu (Finland), Cristina Capatina (Romania), Nienke Biermasz (Netherlands), Sherwin Criseno (UK), Emilija Manojlovic-Gacic (Serbia), Silvia Grottoli (Italy), Henriett Butz (Hungary), Luis Perez-Rivas (Germany)

Keep up to date with the latest ESE News >>