Poster Awards

Poster Awards, worth €250 each, are awarded to the eight best posters (four clinical and four basic) on display at the annual European Congress of Endocrinology (ECE).


There is no application process. The top ten clinical and top ten basic posters are reviewed by members of the ECE Programme Organising Committee during the congress.


  • The applicant will be the presenting author of the poster during ECE.
  • The applicant must be a current member of ESE and be within 10 years post-PhD or MD.


The eight awarded posters, 4 clinical and 4 basic, are selected from the top 10 clinical and 10 basic poster abstracts which attained the best ratings during the abstract evaluation process, based on the scientific content and on the quality of the poster presentation. The prizes are bestowed by the Programme Organising Committee to the presenting author of the eight selected posters.

2021 Poster Award Winners – Clinical

  • Poster PEP6.8, awarded to Olulade Ayodele, US: Risk of Chronic Kidney Disease in Adult Patients With Chronic Hypoparathyroidism Treated With rhPTH(1-84) Compared With a Historical Control Cohort
  • Poster PEP9.1, awarded to Elina Peltola, Finland: Long-term prognosis in patients with insulinoma
  • Poster PEP8.1, awarded to Nienke Biermasz, The Netherlands: Oral Octreotide Capsules Lowered Incidence and Improved Severity of Acromegaly Symptoms Compared to Injectable Somatostatin Receptor Ligands—Results From the MPOWERED Trial
  • Poster PEP11.5, awarded to Elena Kourti, France: Pre-operative hypercortisolism and post-operative adrenal insufficiency in pheochromocytomas: a single center retrospective analysis of 168 patients

2021 Poster Award Winners – Basic

  • Poster PEP14.3, awarded to Salvatore Sciacchitano, Italy: Multi-omics approach to analyze the molecular pato-physiology of the Low T3 syndrome, observed in COVID-19 patients.
  • Poster PEP4.4, awarded to David Carregeta, Portugal: Insulin production by human spermatozoa in response to glucose stimuli
  • Poster PEP12.1, awarded to Nathalie Boulet, France: Cellularity and lipolytic function of human perirenal and subcutaneous adipose tissues in patients with pheochromocytoma
  • Poster PEP15.2, awarded to Vaishnavi Venugopalan, Germany: Monocarboxylate transporter 8 deficiency leads to autophagy-induced persistent cathepsin-mediated thyroglobulin processing triggered by insufficient L-type amino acid transporter 2 functionality