Announcing the 2021 winners of ESE’s prestigious annual Awards

Celebrating quality in endocrinology 

We are delighted to announce the winners of our annual prestigious Awards for 2021. The winners have not only contributed to the knowledge and expertise base in endocrinology as a whole but also have made major individual contributions to their specialist areas. Each of these deserving winners will be presenting a plenary lecture at ESE’s annual congress – the European Congress of Endocrinology (ECE) 2021.

Geoffrey Harris Award


The European Society of Endocrinology is pleased to present the annual Geoffrey Harris Award. This prestigious award recognises researchers in the field of neuroendocrinology and was the first of its kind in Europe.

The 2021 Geoffrey Harris Award has been presented jointly for the first time to Professor John Wass (Oxford University, UK) and Professor Vera Popovic-Brkic (University Clinical Centre, Belgrade, Serbia) for their joint work on 'Complex problems often have simple solutions – let's move on from Hippocrates!’. The jury had a very difficult decision with two very strong candidates with impressive CVs and the jury finally decided to give it ex-aequo to both candidates.

Professor Wass’ insights have helped practicing endocrinologists worldwide refine their views on critical questions in patient management. His imaginative leadership has enabled endocrinologists to adopt new approaches in management to improve patient outcomes. Additionally, Professor Wass's commitment to supporting the work of young investigators ensures that his major contribution to neuroendocrinology will continue to bear fruit for many years to come. He was awarded an ESE Honorary Membership at e-ECE 2020.

Professor Vera Popovic-Brkic is an important researcher in the neuroendocrine field. She has always worked to promote endocrinology in Europe. She has served in several different positions on ESE’s committees making a valuable contribution to the Society and was awarded an ESE Honorary Membership in 2018.

European Journal of Endocrinology

The European Journal of Endocrinology Award is one of the major Laureate Awards of the European Society of Endocrinology. It is awarded on an annual basis to a scientist less than 45 years of age who has contributed significantly to the advancement of knowledge in the field of endocrinology through publication.

The 2021 recipient is from the Center for Research in Molecular Medicine and Chronic Disease, Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Spain. He receives the EJE Award for his ground-breaking work on the role of the central nervous system in the control of energy homeostasis and its impact on obesity and its metabolic complications. 

European Hormone Medal

The European Hormone Medal is awarded to an international scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of basic or clinical endocrinology.

The 2021 recipient - Professor Niels E. Skakkebæk from the Department of Growth and Reproduction, Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen, Denmark - was nominated by the European Society of Endocrinology Council of Affiliated Societies (ECAS) for his life-long visionary science in understanding pathogenesis and management of testicular cancer, the most common malignancy of young men. He is also one of the recognised pioneers in the field of environmental endocrine disrupters and is involved in world-wide efforts to understand their effects and curb their use.

Clinical Endocrinology Trust Award

The Clinical Endocrinology Trust (CET) Award is for clinical research that addresses aspects of endocrinology at the forefront of clinical practice and is sponsored by the Clinical Endocrinology Trust. 

The 2021 awardee is Professor Rosario Pivonello (Federico II University of Naples, Italy). He receives this Award for his major contribution to clinical research and practice on Cushing’s syndrome. Among other things, he has contributed to describe the morbidity and mortality of patients with Cushing’s syndrome with some key studies and reviews on cardiovascular risks and osteoporosis, and has contributed to improve the medical treatment of patients with Cushing’s syndrome with his key translational studies on cabergoline and his contribution to many clinical studies and main clinical trials on the development of medical treatment for this syndrome. 

Jens Sandahl Christiansen Award

This Award is given in honour of Jens Sandahl Christiansen and is presented to an endocrinologist for a specific piece of research or project which contributions to our understanding of metabolism and is kindly supported by Novo Nordisk.

We are pleased to announce the 2021 Jens Sandahl Christiansen Award has been given to Dr Panagiotis Anagnostis from the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki who has demonstrated great interest and commitment in different areas of endocrinology including reproductive endocrinology, bone and lipids.

Nominations for the 2022 Awards are now open - submit yours now.

Further information on the ESE Awards and previous recipients can be found here