Pillar 2 - Global Challenges and European Industrial Competitiveness

What does Pillar II cover?

To maximise impact, flexibility and synergies, research and innovation activities under Pillar II will be organised in six clusters, which individually and together will promote interdisciplinary, cross-sectoral, cross-policy, cross-border and international cooperation:

  1. Health;
  2. Culture, Creativity and Inclusive Societies;
  3. Digital, Industry & Space;
  4. Civil Security for Society;
  5. Climate, Energy and Mobility; and
  6. Food, Bioeconomy, Natural Resources, Agriculture & Environment.

Each cluster contributes towards several Sustainable Development Goals (SDG), and many SDGs are supported by more than one cluster.

What will be funded under Pillar II?

Activities funded under Pillar II will strengthen the impact of research and innovation in developing, supporting and implementing Union policies, and support the uptake of innovative solutions in industry and society to address global challenges.

Each of the six clusters has a number of defined intervention areas, which will determine the focus of the collaborative calls for proposals.