Young Investigator Awards

Twelve Young Investigator Awards, worth €1000 each, are awarded to researchers who submit abstracts (basic or clinical) to the annual European Congress of Endocrinology.


Applicants must indicate on the abstract form whether they wish to be considered for an ESE Young Investigator Award.


Successful applicants must be within 10 years post-PhD or MD and a member of ESE at the time of the meeting. 


The awards are based on the achieved abstract scores, as determined by the ECE abstract review committee; the final decision is made by the ECE Programme Organising Committee.

2023 Winners:

  • Elena Armeni (Greece): The severity of hot flashes is associated with the risk for incident metabolic syndrome and new-onset hypertension after the menopause.

  • Maria Claro (Spain): Ectopic Cushing syndrome due to a late metastatic recurrence of  a salivary gland carcinoma: a new therapeutic approach.

  • Meric Coskun (Turkey): TSH suppression increases the risk of sarcopenia and frailty in the long-term follow-up of elderly patients with differentiated thyroid carcinoma.

  • Antonio Garcia-Estrada (Spain): Neuronostatin receptor GPR107 as a potential biomarker and therapeutic target in chronic liver disease.

  • Anne Jouinot (France): Tumor microenvironment of adrenocortical carcinoma dissected by single-cell RNA-sequencing.

  • Yasmine KemKem (UK): Generation of novel tools for the study and development of targeted therapeutic approaches for pheochromocytoma and paraganglioma.

  • Punith Kempegowda (UK): A study of 512 diabetes-related ketoacidosis episodes shows no added risk or impact on outcomes during Ramadan: Results from DEKODE study.

  • Ewa Mlyczyńska (Poland): The concentration of Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons (PAHs) in human serum and adipose tissues and In Vitro stimulatory effect of naphthalene in adipogenesis in 3T3-L1 cells.

  • Sophie Monnerat (Switzerland): Protein Supplementation Increases Plasma Sodium Levels and Urinary Urea Excretion in Patients With Chronic SIAD – A Monocentric Open-Label Proof-Of-Concept Study -The TREASURE Study.

  • Saroj Sahoo (India): Chronic hypoparathyroidism is associated with skeletal muscle dysfunction and restrictive lung disease.

  • Soham Tarafdar (India): Cell free DNA Integrity index to differentiate benign from malignant thyroid nodules.

  • David Veríssimo (Portugal): Continuous Glucose Monitoring in Hospitalized Type 2 Diabetes Patients.