Skip to content
ESE logo
Young Investigator Awards

Twelve Young Investigator Awards, worth €1000 each, are awarded to researchers who submit abstracts (basic or clinical) to the annual European Congress of Endocrinology.

Applicants must indicate on the abstract form whether they wish to be considered for an ESE Young Investigator Award.

Successful applicants must be within 10 years post-PhD or MD and a member of ESE at the time of the meeting. 

The awards are based on the achieved abstract scores, as determined by the ECE abstract review committee; the final decision is made by the ECE Programme Organising Committee.

2024 Winners

  • Alexandra Giannou (Greece): A rare cause of type B insulin resistance presenting after delivery.
  • Bartosz Domagała (Poland): Pathogenic variants of CHEK2 gene in thyroid cancer (TC) patients with a personal and/or familial history of other malignancies. 
  • Barbora Pekova (Czech Republic): ALK fusion genes in a large cohort of thyroid carcinoma 
  • Catarina Cidade-Rodrigues (Portugal): Glucose at gestational diabetes diagnosis predicts neonatal hypoglycaemia, large-for-gestational age and post-partum abnormal maternal glucose homeostasis. 
  • Edoardo Luigi Maria Mollero (Italy): Baseline Hormonal Profiling and Post-Surgical Outcomes in Patients with Obesity Undergoing Bariatric Surgery: Results from the Novara Experience.
  • Heleen Jansen (Netherlands): Age-specific reference intervals for TSH and FT4 to optimize diagnosis of thyroid disease. 
  • Jonathan Mertens (Belgium): Nitrate-mediated dilation is impaired in people with type 1 diabetes and co-existent metabolic Dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease.
  • Kai Xu (Netherlands): PRAP study - Partial versus Radical Adrenalectomy for Hereditary Pheochromocytomas. 
  • Lee Ti Davidson (Sweden): Copeptin and asymptomatic arterial disorder in patients with type 2 diabetes, a cross-sectional study 
  • Lieve van Zijverden (Netherlands): Long-term incidence of acute cardiovascular events in transgender people – a large cohort study with national registry data. 
  • Svenja Leibnitz (Switzerland)
    Title: Effects of Glucagon-like Peptide-1 Receptor Agonists on Copeptin in healthy volunteers and patients with primary polydipsia - A secondary analysis of the randomized, double-blind, placebocontrolled, crossover GOLD & GATE trials.
  • Mark Smits (Netherlands)
    Title: Sphinganine increases GLP-1 secretion and causes weight loss in mice.

See Our Previous Winners

Keep up to date with the latest ESE News >>