Transatlantic Alliance Award


The European Society of Endocrinology and the Endocrine Society are delighted to announce a joint the nominations for the 2023 The Transatlantic Alliance Award are now open. 

The Transatlantic Alliance Award is presented to a recognised international leader who has made significant advancements in endocrinology research through work and collaboration in both the US and Europe. It is open to researchers across the basic and clinical spectra.

The Award consists of a medal and a financial reward which will normally either be presented at the European Congress of Endocrinology (ECE) or the Endocrine Society annual meeting (ENDO), where the awardee will present one of the main lectures. The Award lecture at the respective meeting will take place on alternate years. However, both Societies may invite the winner to speak at its annual meeting.

2022 (Inaugural) Winner: Shlomo Melmed, USA: Growth Hormone: An Adult Endocrine Misnomer

For full details on the Award and how to nominate, visit the Endocrine Society website

Nominate now

Nominations are now open! Closing date 30 June 2022

How to nominate

Nominations can be made by individuals or any scientific organisation or administrative group. Self-nominations will be allowed if supported by two members of either ESE or ES.  Nominees should be a member of at least one of the Societies.

For ESE: Members of the ESE Executive Committee and the ECE Programme Organising Committee are not eligible for one year after their term of office ends. ESE Committee Chairs and Focus Area Leads are not eligible whilst in office.

For ES: Members of the ES Executive Committee and Annual Meeting Steering Committee are not eligible for this award for one year after their term of office ends. ES committee chairs are not eligible whilst in office.

Nominations should include:

  • Nomination form
  • Nomination covering letter, including the merits of the nominee and the reasoning for the nomination (no longer than two pages)
  • CV and Bibliography - list the most relevant research/publications of the nominee (up to 10 publications within the last 10 years)
  • Letter of support (if self-nomination) from two ESE or ES members
  • Tentative title of the plenary lecture


The jury is composed of the current President, President-Elect, and immediate Past-President of both Societies. The jury may invite one more persons on an ad-hoc basis to ensure coverage of clinical and basic science. The jury will ensure parity between European and US nominations.

The co-Chairs of the jury will be the current President of both Societies.