Geoffrey Harris Award

The European Society of Endocrinology is pleased to present the annual Geoffrey Harris Award. This prestigious award recognises researchers in the field of neuroendocrinology and is the first of its kind in Europe.

The award consists of a financial reward, medal and travel expenses and will be presented during the annual European Congress of Endocrinology, where the winner will be asked to give one of the Plenary lectures, in addition to two other lectures at future ESE scientific meetings. The Geoffrey Harris Award is kindly supported by Ipsen. 

Nominations are now closed.

2022 Winner

AJ van der Lely, The Netherlands: A powerful and almost forgotten tool in endocrinology: a chair.

How to nominate

Nominations for the award are invited from individuals or any scientific organisation or administrative group. Self-nominations will be accepted if supported by two ESE members. The candidate must be a member of ESE. 

Members of the ESE Executive Committee and the ECE Programme Organising Committee are not eligible for one year after their term of office ends. ESE Committee Chairs and Focus Area Leads are not eligible whilst in office.

Nominations should include:

  • Nomination covering letter, including the merits of the nominee and the reasoning for the nomination (no longer than two pages)
  • CV and Bibliography - list the most relevant research/publications of the nominee (up to 10 publications within the last 10 years)
  • Letter of support (if self-nomination) from two ESE members
  • Tentative title of the plenary lecture

All nominations must be submitted by using this nomination form by the closing date stated above.


The jury is composed of five members of the ESE Executive Committee and is formed each year. A member of the Executive Committee may not serve in the jury when nominations have been received from a fellow countryman. If this reduces the number below the minimum of 5 jury members, then external jury members are to be consulted.

The Chairman of the jury is usually the ESE Secretary. If not a member of the jury, for reasons outlined above, the President or the Treasurer will act as Chairman. If all three are not members of the jury, the jury selects a chairman from their own number.

Please contact the ESE Office for further information.