Jens Sandahl Christiansen Award

The European Society of Endocrinology is pleased to present the Jens Sandahl Christiansen Award.

This award is made in honour of Jens Sandahl Christiansen and will be presented to an endocrinologist for a specific piece of research or project on metabolism in general (contributions to our understanding of metabolism) and is kindly supported by Novo Nordisk.

The award consists of a financial reward, a plaque, congress registration, accommodation, travel expenses and will be presented during the annual European Congress of Endocrinology. There will be two awards, one for clinical and one for basic science and the recipients will give a short presentation (2-3 minutes) of their research/summary of project during the awards session at the congress.

Nomination deadline for the 2023 award has been extended to Friday 10 June 2022.

2022 Winners

Basic Award - Ruben Nogueiras, Spain: Deciphering the role of p53 family members in glucose metabolism

Clinical Award - Cristina Olarescu, Norway: The impact of growth hormone excess on fat tissue metabolism

How to nominate

Nominations for the award are invited from individuals or groups. The candidate must be a member of ESE and be permanently resident in Europe. The candidate must also be less than 45 years of age on 1 January (of the congress year), however this age limit can be extended by one year for each child for whom the candidate has served as the primary caregiver; other career breaks, e.g. due to other family commitments or ill health, will also be taken into account. Self-nominations will be accepted if supported by two ESE members.

Nominations should include:

  • Nomination covering letter, including the merits of the nominee and the reasoning for the nomination (no longer than two pages)
  • CV and Bibliography - list the most relevant research/publications of the nominee (up to 10 publications within the last 10 years)
  • Letter of support (if self-nomination) from two ESE members
  • Details of the specific piece of research/project to be considered for the award

All nominations must be submitted by using this nomination form by the closing date stated above.


The jury is composed of five members of the Executive Committee and formed each year. The Chair of the jury will usually be the ESE Secretary.

Please contact the ESE Office for further information.