European Hormone Medal

The European Hormone Medal is awarded to an international scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of basic or clinical endocrinology.

The award consists of a financial reward and medal and will be presented during the annual European Congress of Endocrinology, where the winner will be asked to give one of the Plenary lectures.

Nominations are now closed.

2022 Joint Winners

Josef Köhrle, Germany: Great impact in low quantities – thyroid hormones, trace elements and endocrine disruptors.

Peter Rossing, Denmark: Diabetic kidney disease: after years of darkness came light – finally new options for treatment!

How to nominate 

Nominations for the award are invited from members of the ESE Council of Affiliated Societies (ECAS) and from the ESE Science Committee. Self-nominations will be accepted if supported by two ESE Members.

Nominations should include:

  • Nomination covering letter, including the merits of the nominee and the reasoning for the nomination (no longer than two pages)
  • CV and Bibliography - list the most relevant research/publications of the nominee (up to 10 publications within the last 10 years)
  • Letter of support (if self-nomination) from two ESE members
  • Tentative title of the plenary lecture

All nominations must be submitted by using this nomination form by the closing date stated above.


Past Presidents of ESE will not be eligible for four years after their term of office ends. Previous recipients of the Geoffrey Harris and EJE Award will not be eligible for 3 years after their award was received. Members of the ESE Executive Committee and the ECE Programme Organising Committee are not eligible for one year after their term of office ends. ESE Committee Chairs and Focus Area Leads are not eligible whilst in office.


The Chair of the jury will usually be the Chair of the ESE Science Committee and the jury is composed of the Chair, the ESE President and all of the official ECAS representatives from the societies represented within ECAS. The jury is formed each year and each jury member will have one vote (ie, one vote per Society).

The Chair of the jury will decide on the final list of candidates to be put forward for vote. The successful candidate will be the candidate who receives the most votes. In the case of a tied vote the winner will be decided by the Chair of the jury, and ratified by the ESE Executive Committee.