Skip to content
ESE logo

European Hormone Medal

The European Hormone Medal is awarded to an international scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of basic or clinical endocrinology.

The award consists of a financial reward and medal and will be presented during the annual European Congress of Endocrinology, where the winner will be asked to give one of the Plenary lectures.

2024 Winner

We are pleased to announce that the 2024 European Hormone Medal Award winner is Gudmundur Johannsson from Sweden. The title of his lecture at ECE 2024 is "Mortality and morbidity in rare pituitary and adrenal endocrine disorders".

Nominations for the 2025 award are now open; closing date Wednesday 28 February 2024

Help us to celebrate the achievements of our community and nominate yourself, or a colleague, for an ESE Award today! The 2025 Awards will be presented at the Joint Congress of ESPE and ESE 2025 ‘Connecting Endocrinology Across the Life Course’ in the wonderful city of Copenhagen, Denmark.

The Joint Congress will bring together paediatric and adult endocrine specialists and we would be open to receiving nominations which appeal across the life course, where appropriate, however all nominations are welcome!

Nominations for the award are invited from members of the ESE Council of Affiliated Societies (ECAS) and from the ESE Science Committee. Self-nominations will be accepted if supported by two ESE Members.

Nominations should include:

  • Nomination covering letter, including the merits of the nominee and the reasoning for the nomination (no longer than two pages)
  • CV and Bibliography - list the most relevant research/publications of the nominee (up to 10 publications within the last 10 years)
  • Letter of support (if self-nomination) from two ESE members
  • Tentative title of the plenary lecture

Past Presidents of ESE will not be eligible for four years after their term of office ends. Previous recipients of the Geoffrey Harris and EJE Award will not be eligible for 3 years after their award was received. 

Members of the ESE Executive Committee and the ECE Programme Organising Committee are not eligible for one year after their term of office ends. ESE Committee Chairs and Focus Area Leads are not eligible whilst in office.

The Chair of the jury will usually be the Chair of the ESE Science Committee and the jury is composed of the Chair, the ESE President and all of the official ECAS representatives from the societies represented within ECAS. The jury is formed each year and each jury member will have one vote (ie, one vote per Society).

The Chair of the jury will decide on the final list of candidates to be put forward for vote. The successful candidate will be the candidate who receives the most votes. In the case of a tied vote the winner will be decided by the Chair of the jury, and ratified by the ESE Executive Committee.

Keep up to date with the latest ESE News >>